Kielder cottage Reviews

Follow links to our Facebook and Google reviews 

  • Facebook

Beautiful cottage with everything we could want.  Definitely will be back.  Thank you

November 2022 - Coles Family - Alnwick

Beautiful cottage and area - exceeded expectations!  Had some lovely walks, enjoyed the bath and fire - the cottage is very comfortable - you've thought of everything; love the Sky cinema and bluetooth speaker.  Sunday lunch at the Blackcock Inn, Falstone was great.  Thank you for an excellent break - would love to come back !

November 2022 - Clare & Mark - Lancs

Dear Kath & Ken.  Thank you so much - the cottage is a joy, so welcoming, beautiful and comfortable.  Everything has been done with such style and love!  We've enjoyed our stay so much, even thought the weather has meant we didn't explore as much as we'd intended.  We had an amazing experience at the Observatory, a wonderful walk from the door on a drier day and delicious food at The Waterside.  Oh and amazingly when we arrived after a very rainy journey - the sun popped out and gave us a lovely sunset from the deck !  The cottage is perfect.  Thank you !

November 2022 - Bob & Lyn - North Yorkshire

Another Perfect Stay.  Some very much needed rest and recovery.  Cottage is wonderful & improved.  Many thanks and we will be back.

Our 4th stay at Kielder Cottage.  We absolutely love it here.  Kath & Ken you have done an amazing job renovating this lovely gem.  You have put a lot of work into it, its really beautiful.  Thank you for the lovely welcome pack, a lovely thought.  Needless to say, we'll be back again.

November 2022 - Lisa & Kelvin - Middlesbrough

We've had a great stay.  Very cosy and comfortable.  The view is fab and the birds are so sweet. It's great to be able to do walks directly from the cottage   Welcome basket yummy, thank you.  We know where to come if we visit Kielder again.  Thank you so much Kath and Ken you've got it just right.

November 2022 - Helen and David - Leeds

F A B U L O U S ! ! !

Loved the cottage and location.  Kath and Ken are best hosts ever.  We hope to return.

October 2022 - Alyson, Jean & Bernard - Newcastle

Thank you ! We had a really lovely stay !

October 2022 -  Faye & Chris - Shropshire

Another great stay at your wonderful cottage.  Everything perfect.  Enjoyed a couple of walks and the hospitality of the Pheasant Inn - fabulous food.  Thank you Kath & Ken we had a lovely relaxing time.  We will definitely be back xx

October 2022 -  Sharon, Len, Debbie & Paul - Newcastle

It was a pleasure to stay in such a great cottage surrounded by fantastic countryside.  Everything we needed was here and even the weather  was kind.  The added bonus of seeing the Milky Way was a sight to behold.  Thank you xx

September 2022 -  Ann, Steve & Rusty 

Had a wonderful week in your cosy, comfortable cottage.  Welcome hamper was much appreciated !  Just a shame about the weather.  Many Thanks.

September 2022 -  Hannah & Steve - Warwickshire

Lovely cottage and area!  We had a very relaxing week with beautiful views.  Recommend a visit to Cragside, we spent a lovely afternoon there.  Thank You !

August 2022 -  Barbara, Geoff, Mollie & Grant - Suffolk

We had a great stay in the best cottage we could have chosen.  Breathtaking views and convenient for all local landmarks and amenities.

August 2022 -  The Blackburns - Doncaster

Lovely cottage and breathtaking landscape - would stay in Kielder forever if we could !  Thank You 

August 2022 -  The Hall's - Cheshire

Thanks so much for a lovely stay.  The view has made our holiday !

August 2022 -  The McIntosh's - Ilkley

Another wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage.  Did a few quick runs - one to Tower Knowe Visitor Centre & back and one to Falstone & back.  Also visited Kielder Observatory twice and got amazing views of the moon.  A definite highlight was relaxing on the decking looking at the beautiful view.  Managed to see the Osprey catching a fish on our first night.  Our last day was a wonderful walk (Bell Craig Peninula loop) with amazing forest paths and great views of Kielder Water.  Thank you for the lovely welcome basket and the use of your beautiful cottage once again.

July 2022 - Michelle, Sean, Emily & Beckett - Lancs

Beautiful cottage and location.  We could not have had a better viewpoint from which to watch the Osprey catching fish!  Many Thanks

July 2022 -  Paul, Rona, Hope & Isla

Absolutely fantastic week.  We could not have wished for better weather.   Kielder Cottage is wonderfully equipped and in such a fabulous spot  Views amazing and will most definitely make a return visit.  Thank you

June 2022 -  Val, Egg, Judy & Digby

Thoroughly enjoyed a fabulous week at Kielder Cottage.  Great weather for walking.  Recommend The Blackcock Inn and The Pheasant for food and service.  Booked for next June.

Many Thanks to Kath & Ken

June 2022 -  Dan and Lesley, Northumberland

Such a beautiful place to stay - views stunning !  Unfortunately weather not the best but didn't deter us getting out and about.  Lovely walks from the door.  Kielder Waterside a regular watering hole!  Fire most welcome in the cottage.  Drove to Hexham - beautiful.  Saw a deer, and a red squirrel visited the bird feeder.  We've had a lovely week.  Thank you from 2 happy humans and 2 tired beagles !!

May 2022 -  Debs, Lindsey and Bentley & Ted  the beagles.

We had a wonderful time! Loved the view, very comfortable and relaxing cottage with lots to do right on the doorstep!  Ospreys, Bird of Prey Centre, Boat Trips and  the resident wildlife all amazing - we saw a sparrowhawk, red squirrel, bats and many small garden birds right here on the deck !!

May 2022 - Leanne, Luke & Charlie & Maisie the dogs - Sheffield

Very happy here, we will be back and tell all our cycling friends about Kielder.  Every day cycling or walking from the door and when not out there, looking at that amazing view.  Thank you Kath & Ken.

May 2022 - Hilary & Dave - Sussex

Very quiet, beautifully finished cottage, everything works well.  Saw the Ospreys and lots of other birds including Siskins, which are rare where we live.  Even when the weather was against us, it made a perfect place to relax and soak up the fabulous scenery & wildlife.  Also right in the middle of important Roman & political history sites.

May 2022 - Satisfied Customers from Suffolk

A beatiful cottage with everything you need, loved the welcome gift.  It was perfect for Davids 70th.  Thank you both so much, had a great time.  p.s. saw three deer this morning.

May 2022 - Susan, David, Amy & Ian - Ryton

Recommended to us by a friend and we were not disappointed.  The cottage is beautiful with stunning views and everything we needed was supplied.  The welcome basket was a lovely touch as well.  The dogs loved exploring the forest and had plenty of exercise.  Would recommend your lovely cottage. Thanks for a great holiday.

April 2022 - Nick, Catherine & Alfie and Border Collies Meg, Marlow and Lola - Selby

Absolutely lovely cottage.   You've thought of everything to make it a special break.  Thank you so much.

April 2022 - Sue & Steve - Neston

Lovely cottage in a great location.  We wanted for nothing.  The welcome basket was a wonderful surprise and made full use of.  Thank you for a really great time in your beautiful cottage.

April 2022 - Anon

Kath & Ken, what a fantastic cottage in a fantastic setting.  The treats area really nice touch and the beds are so comfy.  Looking forward to October.  Kath & Ken you have got it all spot on x

March 2022 - Liz, John, Claire & Willow the Cavapoo - Fife

A really lovely cottage accompanied by a tasty welcome package!  

Delightful to sit on the decking taking in the sun with a great backdrop.  Many Thanks.

March 2022 - Tim & Janet

Beautiful cottage in an area of outstanding beauty!  Weather was amazing as well which always helps !

March 2022 - Ian & Theresa

A privilege and delight to stay in such a wonderful place, thank you both for making it possible !  Everything was perfect, already planning a return visit !  Ate at the Black Cock Inn; Falstone Tea Room and Forest Restaurant at Kielder Waterside.  All of which were very dog friendly and tasty.

February 2022 - Stephen & Ernie the dog

Despite uninvited guests - storms Dudley and Eunice, had a lovely birthday week and retirement celebration, fitting in walks, two observatory visits and nice times enjoying your lovely cottage.  Fire and welcome gifts much appreciated.  Will miss waking up to the view of Kielder Water !   Very comfortable beds !

February 2022 - Julie & Guests

What a delightful little gem of a cottage.  We had a glorious few days, the cottage was a warm and cosy retreat to return to after walking and a visit to the Dark Sky Observatory.  Thank you for the treats for both us and Freya - Very much appreciated.

February 2022 - Pauline, Paul & Freya - Nottingham

 

Just spent a weekend with friends at Kielder cottage and wanted everyone to know what a delightful cottage it is. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Beautifully decorated and perfect location overlooking the dam. Kath and Ken obviously take great pride in their cottage and justifiably so.  Their thoughtful gifts that they leave for guests is the finishing touch.  We were blessed with perfect bright blue skies and sunshine. Two local pubs provided fantastic hospitality and food was delicious.  Can’t recommend Kielder Cottage enough and hope to return one day soon.

February 2022 - Alyson & friends - Newcastle

First visit to Kielder Cottage.  had a very enjoyable, relaxing time.  Cottage is lovely, had everything we needed and more.

February 2022 - Sharon, Ally, Dawn and David

A warm and lovely place to be on a dreich day.  Thank you for  all your care, attention & flexibility.  Recommend Finn Burridge and his Jewels of the Universe at the Observatory !   Also Waterside Restaurant.  

January 2022 - Pauline & Simon and Ginny & Pepper the Springer Spaniels - Kirkby Lonsdale.

Fantastic break in such a relaxing cottage.  We would definitely return and recommend this to many.  Thankyou !

December 2021 - Carl, Clare & Maggie, Wolverhampton

Another wonderful holiday at Kielder Cottage at Christmas.  We've spent many a happy festive season at the cottage.  The re-furb is excellent and the cottage more comfortable for it.  The gift basket on arrival was very welcome as was the call to see we had arrived safely.   We will be back .......again !

December 2021 - Nikki, Sue, Kevin & Bertie - Stoke on Trent

Absolutely stunning cottage & surroundings.  The three of us had a great trip and very likely to come again in the future.  The information pack was very helpful.

November 2021 - Joseph, Kian & Gary - London

Thank you for a fantastic week.  The cottage had everything we needed and more.  Very much appreciated the call to make sure we'd arrived and settled in.  Thanks again x

November 2021 - Sarah, Dan, Diane, Baby William & Monk the dog - Kendal, Cumbria

Wonderful cottage and views.  Thanks for the goodies.  Absolutely loved the place.

November 2021 - Pauline & Nigel - Staffordshire

Fab few days at this beautiful cottage with the most stunning views!  The weather was sunny the whole time.  We appreciated the basket of goodies on arrival and the 5 star accommodation !  Look forward to visit in the future, Many thanks xxx.

November 2021 - Irene, Dawn & Louise - Northumberland

Thank you so much for such a wonderful cottage.  Our holiday was made to be very special from when we walked in late at night and saw the interior of the cottage and lovely hamper of goodies - then when we woke to the amazing views, we were blown away.  Definitely one of our favourite places and we will definitely be back. 

0ctober 2021 - Michelle, Sean, Emily & Becket - Lancs

Thank you Kath & Ken.  Fabulous cottage with stunning views.  Our first time to the area but we will make plans to come back.  Thank you for the goodies and all the little extras made our stay so comfortable x

October 2021 - Scott Family & 2 dogs - London

Beautiful cottage - everything we needed - amazing attention to detail.  Thanks for the basket of goodies - very kind.  Really enjoyed our stay.  Thank you

October 2021 - Sharon & Len - Newcastle

Thank you, We've had a great time, fabulous cottage.  Every possible thing we could have needed was provided.  Those views !!!  The basket of goodies greatly appreciated by the Humans and Morris.  

Enjoyed our stay.  Thank you Kath & Ken 

October 2021 - Currells of Halifax, Warrens of Harrogate & Morris the dog

We could not believe how lucky we were to find a cottage in such a beautiful position.  When we arrived to find such a comfy, homely, clean and inviting cottage with everything we could possibly need, we knew we would have an absolutely fabulous time, and we did.  Thank you so much for the added extras and giving us the opportunity to have time to enjoy, relax and rest in such a perfect setting.  We will certainly be returning at some point in the not too distant future.

October 2021 - Carole, Janice and dogs Frostie & Bob - Doncaster

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS !  Wonderful location, incredible furnishings & equipment.  We had a fantastic 3 nights and even managed a perfectly clear night to go to the observatory.  Anyone coming here will love it !

September 2021 - Packwood Family - Ipswich

Perfect !  Thank you

September 2021 - Alan & Lin - Somerset

All over too soon !  A much needed, very restorative break - thank you.  The nights spent stargazing under the Milky Way won't be forgotten.  Kielder Cottage has been perfect - Thanks again, Kath & Ken, for a lovely stay.

September 2021 - Imogen & Robert - London

A lovely family holiday biking, running, walking and eating.  Even managed an early morning dip with our neighbour. 

Thank you Kath & Ken

August 2021 - Anon

We enjoyed the walking and cycling, and the view is fantastic !  We liked the Osprey cycling route from the castle.  Watch out for tics after the Black Belling walk.  A lovely cottage and a very happy family stay.  Thank you.

August 2021 - Anon - North Wales

Thank you Kath and Ken, your cottage is super.  We have had a wonderful week exploring Kielder Water on our bikes.

August 2021 - Helen, Matt and Evan

I have had a lovely time staying at Kielder Cottage and I don't really want to leave.

August 2021 - Evan aged 6

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely cottage.  Very clean & comfortable, great views, lots of wildlife, even had great weather.  Thanks for the welcome basket, lovely surprise.  I'll be recommending this place to everyone.

August 2021 - Rich, Sarah, Alex, Will, Ian & Margaret  - Northumberland

Thank you for an extremely comfortable and enjoyable stay.  Gorgeous decor/colour scheme with lovely touches e.g. welcome basket, tea/coffee etc.  Having never been to the area before, enjoyed exploring.  A great touch to put local information into your welcome pack.  We would love to return when its cold enough to use the log fire and see a frosty starry night!  A truly memorable place to celebrate an 80th birthday.  Thank you xx

July 2021 - Tulloch/Covell family gathering - Berwickshire & Yorkshire

A perfect finale to our Northumberland holiday, love the cottage and the eco touches.  Very helpful having the walking guides.  Enjoyed exploring the area, including its 'Dark Skies'experience, though it was hard to drag myself away from the deck   Bike store a bonus. 

June 2021 - Pat & John - London

We have had a wonderful relaxing stay.  The cottage is beautiful and a perfect base for exploring the area.  We will be back !

June 2021 - Kelly & Ben, Derbyshire

 

Cottage wonderful (the thoughtful touches and care makes all the difference).  Wonderful cycle around the reservoir.  Thank you.

June 2021  - Sally, Sinead & Georgie the Dog, Cumbria

 

We've had a lovely stay in your cottage and the weather was very kind to us.  We'll definitely be back one day.

May 2021 - Jo, James, Florence & Betsy, Holmfirth

We've had a wonderful few days staying at this beautiful cottage.  Welcome gifts much appreciated , a lovely touch ! Amazing views and so lovely to just sit and watch the birds.  The weather not so good so unfortunately didn't get to see the night skies.  Didn't stop us getting out for some lovely walks though.  The cottage and the decor is absolutely perfect.  Thank you for some "special memories"

May 2021 - Keith & Michele, Derby

We've had a wonderful stay.  Such a lovely cottage with everything we needed, lovely complimentary treats too.  Visited  lots of places, had lovely walks and saw lots of thriving wildlife.  Thanks a lot ! x

April 2021 - Anon, Cumbria

Well, we've had a wonderful week here, the weather has been beautiful all week.  Plenty of walking, can recommend Deadwater Fell  and Hareshaw Fells in nearby Bellingham.  Amazing views from the cottage, what a special place.  Enjoyed the lovely treats in the welcome basket.  Cottage immaculate and beautifully decorated.  Our first visit but not our last !!!

April 2021 - Martin and Andrea, Chester

What a wonderful cottage !  Loved the fire, watching the birds & the glorious views.  Thank you for the gift basket full of nice things.  Very well provisional place to stay, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing time in this part of the world.  Ospreys, hot baths, stargazing & a generous supply of bird food for the feeder - what more could we ask for ?!

April 2021 - William & Caroline, London

A  wonderful cottage, cosy, comfortable with a stunning view.  Thank you for the welcome basket - lovely treats.  We enjoyed walking in the day and the warmth of the log fire in the evening.  Loved watching the birds enjoying their treats - the binoculars are a lovely touch.  We will be very happy to come again - excellent accommodation.

October 2020 - Barbara & Rob, Cheshire

Wonderfully comfortable, cosy cottage.  We leave feeling relaxed, refreshed, rejuvenated and will definitely return.  Thank you Kath & Ken.

October 2020 - Lorraine & Paul, Northumberland

Thank you for letting us stay  The cottage is warm and cosy with lots of thoughtful touches  Nice quiet location , perfect for a getaway. 10/10 would recommend.  Thanks again.

October 2020 - Ronnie & Hannah, Newcastle

 

Having watched 'Vera' investigate a murder here on ITV, Kielder Water was always on our hit list .  Finally we've made it and we're definitely not disappointed!

From the moment we came into the beautiful cottage and saw the amazing view, we knew it was going to be a fabulous week!  We did lots of walking in the day and snuggled up to the lovely fire in the evenings.  Thank you so much xx

October 2020 - Sara & Andy, Bristol

 

Thank you for providing such a cosy, comfy & homely holiday cottage.  We love everything about it and the quality and range of furnishing and equipment.  The amazing view and wildlife completed a fabulous week and we love the welcome goodies.  The dogs loved the walks, we found so many and are all going home shattered - but in a good way from so much exercise.  Thank you Kath & Ken, we are sure your hosting is going to be a huge success.

September 2020 - Carol & Rob, Shropshire

From the moment we walked through the door and saw the view we were smitten,  Thanks for the basket of goodies.  We couldn't have asked for better weather, sunshine all week.  Just sorry to be going home.  Hope to return.  Thank you Kath & Ken for an amazing time  x

September 2020 - Andy, Shirley & Jack the Border Collie - West Yorkshire

 

Thank you for such a beautiful stay.  We had a lovely time !  Such a stunning cottage with breathtaking views.  Thank you Kath & Ken.

September  2020 - George, Leah and Misty & Bella the Border Collies - Co. Durham

Beautiful cottage.  We absolutely loved our stay.  Thank you Kath & Ken. 

September 2020 - Heather, Michael & Alyssa, Co Durham

 

We loved our stay.  Fantastic cottage with everything we needed.  Thank you x 

September 2020 - Tom, Louise, Mia, Elliot, Sonny & Luna the Husky -  Newcastle

A wonderful restful stay.  The cottage is perfect and well equipped.   Cycling around the lake each day and a cosy log fire at night - Heaven!   We will be back. 

August 2020 - Maria & Ronnie, Co. Durham

We absolutely loved staying at your cottage !  Amazing views of the reservoir and the perfect location - Loved all the little touches and the artwork around your cottage.  Thank you so much for having us !

August 2020 - Chloe & Rory, Sheffield

Beautiful cottage, comfy beds, thoughtful gifts, amazing views & stargazing.  We loved the log fire in the evening.  You've created a gorgeous holiday cottage - Thank you !!

August 2020 - Julie & Michael, Cheshire

Great cottage, immaculately clean, comfy beds, welcome gifts & nice towels.

August  2020 - Gareth & Nat, Lancashire

Lovely cottage with a great view.  Thank you for making us feel so welcome.  We also really enjoyed stargazing and walking around the lake.

August  2020 - Chris, Karen, Ellie & Lucas, Preston

A great week in a wonderful location !  Lovely cottage with an unbeatable view.  Made a great base for cycling, walking & running.  Chanced upon an Ospreys nest with two adults and a chick just to top it all off !  Thanks Kath & Ken for making your cottage so welcoming!

July 2020 - Anon

Stunning cottage with beautiful tasteful decor.  Love the peaceful, relaxing and stunning view.  Did have 1 clear night to appreciate the stars.   Welcome basket was lovely & felt comfortable to know Kath & Ken were on hand if needed.

July 2020 - Vicky & Darren, Notts